An Adequate Distraction

Library

,[/ /],`,[\ \],`,[/ /],`,[\ \],`,[/ /],`,[\ \],`,[/ /],`,[\ \],`,[/ /],`,[\ \],

-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-

You stand in a surprisingly long, quiet room that runs the length of this side of Cair Paravel’s west wing.  The room is narrow in shape, and thus appears to be more of a long, unusually wide corridor.  Someone has constructed a series of shelves along the north wall, under tiny windows that let in only enough light to see by.  Torchwicks line the south wall that can be lit for additional illumination, and under them sit several wooden tables and accompanying benches.

The floors are bare, so your footfalls send hollow-sounding echoes through the marble walls.  There are archways at the southeast and west ends of the room — the west archway leading into the northwest tower, and the southeast archway leading into the common gallery.

-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-

,[/ /],`,[\ \],`,[/ /],`,[\ \],`,[/ /],`,[\ \],`,[/ /],`,[\ \],`,[/ /],`,[\ \],

You can go: Common Gallery <SE>, Northwest Tower <W>

Mateo is sat at a small table at the edge of the library, he has open a book in front of him which he seems engrossed in.

Avery enters the library, her eyes scanning a piece of parchment in her hands. “Ridiculous…” she says, rolling her eyes.

Mateo looks up at the sound of footsteps and the voice, noticing that it’s Lady Avery he stands and offers a polite bow.

Avery hears the scrape of the chair legs and looks up. “Oh, Mateo.” She bows her head in greeting.

You say, “Good day, your ladyship.”

Avery folds the paper. “How do you fare?”

You ask, “Oh, quite well, yourself?”

Avery asks, “Very well, thank you.” She motions toward the book. “Doing some reading?”

Mateo nods looking a little sheepish, “Yes, your ladyship, just a curiosity”

Avery asks, “Of what?”

Mateo scratches the back of his neck, “I… Well, I wanted to know where Teebeth was”

Avery tips her head. “Teebeth…?

You say, “It’s part of Calormen, well, now it is.”

Avery asks, “Oh, is it?”

Mateo nods, “Yes your ladyship” he waves a hand towards the book, it appears to be some kind of atlas.

Avery steps closer. “Will you show me?”

Mateo nods again and turns the book so that she can see it better, it appears to be on a page detailing a map of Calormen. He points to a spot in the far south of the country, “Here, it was here”

Avery hmms, looking at the map. “What is its significance? Why are you interested in that region in particular?”

You say, “Tarkaan Chlamash told me the story of how he was an officer during that war. I was curious to know where it was.”

Avery says, “Ah, I see.” She draws her finger against the page. “I am not very familiar with the history or geography of Calormen. I should like to know more, though.”

Mateo looks down at the page, “Me too, your ladyship, it’s an interesting place. Very strange though.. Or so I hear.”

Avery nods. “I know a Calormene merchant in Archenland. He was able to tell me some things, but there is so much more to the country than he could have told me in the time we had.”

You say, “The Tarkaan said that he might tell me more of the place, though I’m not sure if he was just being polite in saying that.”

Avery says, “Perhaps not. He loves his country and would be glad to share it with anyone who took an interest.”

Mateo nods, “Perhaps so, Your Ladyship” he stares down at the page in the atlas and, says, “Oh, but listen to me ramble away, I hope I’m not distracting you from your business”

Avery laughs lightly. “It is quite alright. I do enjoy being distracted from business now and again.”

Mateo offers her a smile, “Well, in that case I hope your ladyship finds conversation with me an adequate distraction”

Avery says, “Well, I learned where Teebeth is, so I am thankful.” She taps the folded note in her hand. “I should see to this, though.”

Mateo nods understanding and bows, “I won’t keep your ladyship further then”

Avery dips her head. “Good day. Enjoy your exploring.” She touches the corner of the book as she passes, disappearing down the hall.

Leave a Reply

